A Valentine’s Day Message from UDU

Posted: February 14, 2010 in Corianne Egan, Matt Shanley, Miscellaneous

A Message From Matt…

I’ve only known three girls in my entire life with which I could have intelligent sports-related conversations. Needless to say, I dated two of them, and for their own protection, no names will be given.

Girls, if you’re single on Valentine’s Day, a lack of basic sports knowledge could be why. Guys, above all else, want someone they can talk to. Believe me, I am one. Sure, I’d love to listen to how your day was or how you can’t believe another girl was wearing the exact same thing as you, but at the end of the day, my best conversations involve sports and those who play them.

I have a ton of pet peeves. My main annoyance, though, is when people talk during a game. Even more than that, is when the conversation has nothing to do with the current contest. Ladies, let’s not kid ourselves. You all know you’ve been guilty of this.

I don’t care how light Alex Rodriguez’s eyes are. I don’t know why their uniforms are so ugly. I have no idea why the Knicks would name their team after a pair of pants. Just let me watch the game. I cringe when I see females wearing jerseys of franchise players. Most outfitters don’t make women’s jerseys in lesser-known athletes, and understandably so, but every Eli Manning top I see at local sports bars makes me sick. Probably because these females don’t, and may never, understand the love-hate relationship real fans have with the team’s quarterback.

I’m not asking for the next girl I meet to be able to “Stump the Schwab.” My expectations are realistic. I’m simply asking for a little effort. If you can’t understand a simple game of basketball, you should at least try to appreciate why I love it. For instance, if I ask you to attend a Cleveland Cavaliers game with me, you need to know that every set of eyes in that arena will be fixed on LeBron James. Yes, LeBron is his first name.

No, I don’t want to go get food if it’s the middle of the fourth quarter.

Valentine’s Day is a beautiful thing, but in order to celebrate one, you’re going to have to sacrifice. Many times, girls, that means stepping up your game when it comes to knowing your man’s favorite games.

____________________________________________________________________________________

A Message from Cori…

For most, Valentine’s Day is a day of chocolates and candle light dinners, flowers and love notes. While girls are dressing up and getting nice jewelry and plenty of balloons, I am not even coming close to thinking about that. February 14th is the NBA All-Star game. It’s the day before hockey players take their trek to Vancouver for the Olympics. It’s the Daytona 500 for God’s sake.

There are those girls, as Matt pointed out, that don’t take the sports world seriously. Then there is me. My day, my job, my life revolves around sports. It’s inconvienant. Most guys can’t take it. They just don’t understand when I have a meltdown if the Flyers get kicked out of the playoffs. Or why I have a tattoo of hockey sticks on my body. They are so used to hearing whining when they want to watch a game that they are shocked when I sit down right next to them with my jersey on and a beer in my hand.

So, politely, I say no thank you to dinner. No movies please. I can do without the candy and the flowers too. I want a steak dinner on a TV table. I want a cold beer and a quiet night in. Put ESPN on and rub my shoulders. If you need a gift idea – I need a USA hockey shirt so I am not forced to wear my Canada jersey for the next two weeks.

Or a Darrel Revis jersey… Or… dare I say… a Kevin Durant jersey… No, chuck that. I want season tickets to the Red Sox. On the Green Monster.

Thats going to cost a lot of moo-lah. I guess I’m going to have to marry a lawyer. Or a doctor. Let’s be realistic: I’m going to need to marry an athlete.

Comments
  1. John Russo says:

    Shanley: Amen brotha!

  2. Giras Panama says:

    Thank you very much for your help, this has been a great rest from the books,

  3. Your site design is a bit off in K-Melon. However I like your blog. I may have to install a “normal” browser just to enjoy it. 🙂

  4. panama says:

    Your blog is super I will have to read it all, thank you for the diversion from my studies!

  5. Good post – and great domain by the way!

Leave a comment